Welcome to Old Fort Lowell Neighborhood Association, Inc. (OFLNA) web site. We are neighbors dedicated to preserving the history and unique character of our Tucson neighborhood ... from Hohokam farmers of 1,700 years ago, to the Cavalry of the 1800s, to El Fuerte's families, to the present day. We're glad you're here!
Local archeology shows traces of human settlement in our neighborhood, dating back thousands of years. Indigenous people farmed and took irrigation water from the nearby streams, which flowed perennially back then.
OFLNA gets its name from Fort Lowell, an Army post established on the site in 1873. At its peak, Fort Lowell comprised approximately 30 adobe buildings, including a hospital, commissary, trading store, guard house, officers’ quarters, and kitchens. The Fort was abandoned in 1891 and what remains of the original structures can be seen on the grounds of Tucson's present-day Fort Lowell Park. The park is located on the east side of Craycroft Road between Fort Lowell Road and Glenn Street. There are also ruins on several sites on the west side of Craycroft Road across from the park.
After the fort was abandoned, Mexican farmers and ranchers began moving into the area, forming a community known as El Fuerte or The Fort. Many examples of their Sonoran-style adobe homes can be seen here today. Also visible is an irrigation system built by Mormons in the 1890s for carrying water from the Tanque Verde Creek to their farmlands nearby.